14 Different Types of Access Control Lists (ACLs) in Cisco IOS

Access Control Lists

Access Control Lists (ACLs) are a crucial component of network security, allowing administrators to control traffic flow and enforce security policies on Cisco routers and switches. Cisco IOS offers a variety of ACL types, each designed to address specific network security needs.

Let’s explore into the most commonly known and used types of ACLs:

1. Standard ACLs

Standard ACLs are the simplest form of ACLs and are based solely on the source IP address. They permit or deny traffic based on the source IP address specified in the ACL entry.

2. Extended ACLs

Extended ACLs offer more granularity compared to standard ACLs as they can filter traffic based on various criteria such as source and destination IP addresses, protocols, port numbers, and other Layer 4 information.

3. IP Named ACLs

IP Named ACLs provide a more intuitive and manageable way to configure ACLs by using user-defined names instead of numeric ACL IDs. They offer the same functionality as standard and extended ACLs but with the added benefit of easier configuration and readability.

4. Lock and Key (Dynamic ACLs)

Dynamic ACLs, also known as Lock and Key ACLs, dynamically create temporary ACL entries in response to incoming traffic. These entries are typically based on the source IP address of the incoming packets and are removed after a specified timeout period.

5. Reflexive ACLs

Reflexive ACLs, also known as IP session ACLs, dynamically create temporary ACL entries to allow return traffic in response to outgoing traffic initiated from within the network. This helps in controlling traffic flow for certain protocols like ICMP, UDP, and TCP.

6. Established ACLs

Established ACLs, also known as Stateful ACLs, dynamically permit inbound traffic that is part of an established session or connection, based on the state information maintained by the router or firewall.

7. Time-based ACLs using time ranges

Time-based ACLs allow administrators to define specific time ranges during which ACL entries are active. This is useful for implementing security policies that need to be enforced only during certain times of the day.

8. Distributed time-based ACLs

Similar to time-based ACLs, distributed time-based ACLs allow administrators to specify time-based restrictions on ACL entries, but these ACLs are applied on distributed platforms such as Cisco ASA firewall appliances.

9. Turbo ACLs

Turbo ACLs, also known as Turbo Access Control Lists, are optimized ACLs designed to improve ACL processing performance on Cisco routers and switches, particularly in high-speed environments.

10. Receive ACLs

Receive ACLs are applied to incoming traffic on a router interface before the routing decision is made. They are typically used for traffic filtering or policing before routing decisions are made.

11. Infrastructure protection ACLs

Infrastructure protection ACLs are used to protect network infrastructure devices such as routers and switches from unauthorized access or attacks by filtering traffic destined for the infrastructure devices.

12. Transit ACLs

Transit ACLs are applied to traffic passing through a router or switch, allowing administrators to filter or control traffic based on specific criteria such as source and destination IP addresses, protocols, or port numbers.

13. Classification ACLs

Classification ACLs are used to classify traffic based on specific criteria such as source and destination IP addresses, protocols, or port numbers. They are often used in conjunction with Quality of Service (QoS) policies to prioritize or differentiate traffic flows.

14. Debugging traffic using ACLs

ACLs can also be used for debugging purposes by logging or monitoring specific types of traffic based on defined criteria. This helps in troubleshooting network issues and analyzing traffic patterns.

In conclusion, understanding the various types of ACLs available in Cisco IOS is essential for network administrators to effectively implement security policies, control traffic flow, and ensure the integrity and availability of their network infrastructure. Each type of ACL offers unique features and functionalities tailored to specific security requirements, allowing administrators to customize ACL configurations based on their organization’s needs and network environment.

You may also like:

Related Posts