Demystifying HTTP Status Codes: Understanding the Language of the Web

HTTP Status Codes Techhyme

In the vast and interconnected world of the internet, communication between web clients and servers is facilitated by the Hypertext Transfer Protocol (HTTP). This protocol defines a set of status codes that servers use to communicate the outcome of a client’s request. These HTTP status codes serve as a language that informs both users and developers about the success or failure of a particular request.

Let’s delve into the common HTTP status codes and their meanings.

2xx Success

HTTP status codes in the 2xx range indicate that the client’s request was successfully received, understood, and processed by the server.

1. 200 OK: The most well-known status code, 200 OK, indicates that the request was successful, and the server is returning the requested data.

2. 201 Created: This status code signifies that the server has successfully fulfilled the client’s request and has created a new resource as a result.

3xx Redirection

Status codes in the 3xx range indicate that further action is needed to complete the request. The server is redirecting the client to a different location.

3. 301 Moved Permanently: This status code informs the client that the requested resource has been permanently moved to a new URL. Subsequent requests should be made to this new location.

4. 302 Moved Temporarily: Similar to the 301 code, a server responds with a 302 status code when the requested resource is temporarily located at a different URL. The client should use the new URL for the current request but keep the old URL for future requests.

5. 304 Not Modified: When a client sends a conditional GET request to the server, this status code indicates that the requested resource has not been modified since the last time it was requested. The server responds without sending the resource, instructing the client to use the cached version.

4xx Client Error

Status codes in the 4xx range indicate that the client’s request was faulty or cannot be fulfilled by the server.

6. 400 Bad Request: This status code is returned when the server cannot understand the client’s request due to malformed syntax.

7. 401 Unauthorized: When a client attempts to access a protected resource without proper authentication credentials, the server responds with a 401 status code, indicating that the request requires user authentication.

8. 403 Forbidden: A server sends a 403 status code when the client’s request is understood, but the server refuses to fulfill it. This status is often triggered when the user doesn’t have the necessary permissions to access the requested resource.

9. 404 Not Found: Perhaps one of the most common status codes encountered, 404 indicates that the requested resource could not be found on the server. This might be due to a mistyped URL or a resource that has been removed or relocated.

10. 405 Method Not Allowed: If a client attempts to use an HTTP method that is not supported by the server for the requested resource, the server responds with a 405 status code.

5xx Server Errors

Status codes in the 5xx range indicate that the server encountered an error while processing the request.

11. 500 Internal Server Error: When an unexpected condition is encountered by the server, it responds with a 500 status code. This indicates that something has gone wrong on the server’s end, and the request cannot be completed.


HTTP status codes play a critical role in enabling effective communication between clients and servers on the web. Understanding the meanings of these status codes helps users and developers diagnose issues, troubleshoot errors, and take appropriate actions when interacting with websites and web applications.

By grasping the language of HTTP status codes, we can navigate the complexities of the internet with more clarity and confidence, both as users and creators of web experiences.

Related Posts

Rootkit Attacks Techhyme

Important Key Indicators That Your Computer Might Have Fallen Victim To RootKit Attack

In the ever-evolving realm of cybersecurity threats, rootkits stand out as a particularly insidious and deceptive form of malware. These malicious software packages are designed to infiltrate…

Spyware Techhyme

Vital Measures That Can Help You Thwart Spyware’s Impact

In the realm of cyber threats, where every click and download can carry unforeseen consequences, the menace of spyware looms as a constant danger. Spyware, a form…

ICT Security Techhyme

Different Areas Covered by ICT Security Standards

In today’s digital landscape, where technology pervades nearly every aspect of our lives, ensuring the security and reliability of information and communication technology (ICT) is of paramount…

DOS Attacks Techhyme

Recognize The Major Symptoms of DoS Attacks

In the interconnected world of the internet, Distributed Denial of Service (DoS) attacks have become a prevalent threat, targeting individuals, businesses, and organizations alike. A DoS attack…

Blockchain Blocks Techhyme

How Blockchain Accumulates Blocks: A Step-by-Step Overview

Blockchain technology has revolutionized the way we think about data integrity and secure transactions. At the heart of this innovation lies the concept of blocks, which serve…

Cyber Ethics Techhyme

Exploring the Multifaceted Sources of Cyberethics: From Laws to Religion

In the digital age, where our lives are increasingly intertwined with technology, the concept of ethics has expanded its reach into the realm of cyberspace. Cyberethics, a…

Leave a Reply